Privacy settings


28th International Input-Output Association Conference
10th Edition of the International School of I-O Analysis
28th Aug - 02nd Sept 2022, Langkawi Island, Malaysia


Scientific Programme Committee

The Scientific Programme Committee (SPC) will be responsible for the scientific programme of the conference, including the call for papers, the submission and review process of abstracts, determining the themes for parallel sessions, etc. The Members for the SPC will be determined by the IIOA Council and to be led by Mr Shigemi Kagawa.

I think that the COVID-19 pandemic has rapidly weakened our social networks and clearly brought about negative network effects in a society. When I was a Ph.D. student, I attended the IIOA conference held in 2000 in Macerata, Italy for the first time. At the conference, I met Sangwon Suh (UC Santa Barbara) who was a Ph.D. student at Leiden University. After the conference, we exchanged research ideas and published papers and a special issue in the ESR together.

The academic achievements clearly helped me get a faculty position as well as a professorship. Thus, its experience was not a trivial to my life. I also directly talked with Professor Karen Polenske (MIT professor) at the session room. This was an exciting experience. So I decided to become an IIOA member.

I am really wondering that a mere online conference can contribute to strengthening social networks among young researchers? In my case, if the Macerata conference was held just online, I would probably not be an IIOA member now.

I really appreciate the final decision by the IIOA Council to hold a 'physical‘ conference again in 2022. I believe that this precious opportunity can contribute to strengthening social networks among researchers and exchanging research ideas on how our society can achieve sustainable development goals and how IO-analysis can contribute to solving social problems.

I am now 49 years old, and I would be glad to see a future IIOA led by talented young researchers and Ph.D. students attending the conference this year!

I am looking forward to see you at the conference!

Sincerely yours

Shigemi KAGAWA, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Faculty of Economics, Kyushu University

Member Affiliation
Nadim Ahmad OECD
Inaki Arto BC3 Basque Centre for Climate Change
Rossella Bardazzi Università di Firenze
Maaike Bouwmeester EUROSTAT
Christa Court University of Florida
Erik Dietzenbacher University of Groningen
Rosa Duarte University of Zaragoza
Faye Duchin Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Hubert Escaith World Trade Organisation
Hidemichi Fujii Kyushu university
Arne Geschke University of Sydney
Joaquim Guilhoto OECD
Taiji Hagiwara Kobe University
Geoff Hewings University of Illinois
Khanh Hoang Statistics Australia
Klaus Hubacek University of Groningen
Satoshi Inomata Institute of Developing Economies, JETRO, Japan
Peter Roermose Jensen Statistics Denmark
Keiichiro Kanemoto Research Institute for Humanity and Nature
Euijune Kim Seoul National University
Yasushi Kondo Waseda University
Kurt Kratena Centre of Economic Scenario Analysis and Research
Tobias Kronenberg Hochschule Bochum
Heinz KURZ University of Graz
Michael Lahr Rutgers University
Manfred Lenzen University of Sydney
Chen Lin Renmin University of China
Xiuli Liu Chinese Academy of Sciences
Bart Los University of Groningen
Sanjiv Mahajan Office for National Statistics
Arunima Malik University of Sydney
Douglas MEADE Inforum
Bo Meng Institute of Developing Economies, JETRO, Japan
Jan Minx Leeds university
Kakali Mukhopadhyay McGill University
Keisuke Nansai National institute for Environmental Studies
Kazuhiko Nishimura Chukyo university
Shunsuke Okamoto Onomichi city university
Yasuhide Okuyama University of Kitakyushu
Jan Oosterhaven University of Groningen
Anne Owen University of Leeds
Stefan Pauliuk Universität Freiburg
Jiansuo Pei Renmin University of China
Fernando Perobelli Federal University of Juiz de Fora
Isabelle Remond-Tiedrez European Commission, Eurostat
Jose Rueda-Cantuche European Commission, Joint Research Centre
Monica Serrano Gutierrez University of Barcelona
Yosuke Shigetomi Nagasaki university
Bert Steenge University of Groningen
Sangwon Suh University of California, Santa Barbara
Umed Temurshoev IOpedia
Luis Daniel Torres Gonzalez Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
Vinicius VALE Federal University of Parana
Yafei Wang Beijing Normal University
Kirsten Wiebe SINTEF
Harry Wilting Netherlands Environmental Assessment Agency
Richard Wood Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Norihiko Yamano OECD
Cuihong Yang Academy of Mathematics and Systems Science
Takashi Yagi Meiji university
Hongxia Zhang Renmin University of China