IIOA Fellows, Prizes and Past Presidents

Fellows of the IIOA

At each International IO Conference from 2007 onwards, new Fellows of the IIOA may be installed. With this the IIOA honors appropriate members of the IIOA for their scientific contributions to the field of input-output analysis, broadly defined. New fellows are nominated by the membership at large and from these nominations the existing Fellows select the new ones. For details see the Bylaws on IIOA Fellows.

  • 2017: Manfred Lenzen
  • 2014: Erik Dietzenbacher
  • 2013: Jan Oosterhaven, Thijs Ten Raa
  • 2011: Faye Duchin, Edward Wolff
  • 2010: Xikang Chen, Geoffrey J.D. Hewings
  • 2009: Clopper Almon, Ronald E. Miller, Graham Pyatt
  • 2007: András Bródy, Anne P. Carter, Karen R. Polenske

Leontief Memorial Prize

This US-$ 1,000 prize is awarded to the best paper presented at an International IO Conference by author(s) all under 40 years of age. The prize winning paper will be considered for publication in Economic Systems Research, the Journal of the IIOA.

  • 13th International IO Conference, Macerata 2000: Bart Los for his paper “Endogenous growth and structural change in a dynamic input-output model”, published in Economic Systems Research, 13/1 (2001), pp. 3-34.

  • 14th International IO Conference, Montreal 2002: Kazuhiko Nishimura for his paper “Technology transfer with capital constraints and environmental protections: Models and applications to the Philippines”, published in  Economic Systems Research, 15/3 (2003), pp. 359-370.

  • 15th International IO Conference, Beijing 2005: the quality of the submitted papers was insufficient and the prize was not awarded

  • 16th International IO Conference, Istanbul 2007: Shigemi Kagawa, Yuki Kudoh, Keisuke Nansai & Tomohiro Tasaki for their paper “The economic and environmental consequences of automobile lifetime extension and fuel economy improvement: Japan’s case”, which is published in ESR volume 20 (2008), issue 1

  • 17th International IO Conference, Sao Paolo 2009: Mark J. Orsi and Joost Santos for the paper “Probabilistic modeling of workforce-based disruptions and input-output analysis of interdependent ripple effects", which is published in ESR volume 22 (2010), issue 1.

  • 18th International IO Conference, Sydney 2010: Li Wu for the paper "A structural growth model and its applications to Sraffa's system" and Jose-Manuel Rueda-Cantuche for the paper "Underestimation of the performance of the EU carbon dioxide emission reductions via external trade."

  • 19th International IO Conference, Alexandria 2011: Sangwon Suh for the paper "The Structure of Life-Cycle Environmental Impact of the U.S. Economy".

  • 20th International IO Conference, Bratislava 2012: Umed Temurshoev for the paper "Intercountry feedback and spillover effects within the international supply and use framework: A Bayesian perspective" and Soeren Lindner and Dabo Guan for the paper "Disaggregating Input-Output Models with Incomplete Information", which was published in ESR volume 24 (2012), issue 4.

  • 21st International IO Conference, Kitakyushu 2013: Kuishuang FENG, Steven J. DAVIS, Xin LI and Dabo GUAN for the paper: "Outsourcing CO2 within China", and Yuko OSHITA for the paper "Finding Important Industrial Clusters with Higher Oil Price Pressure: Japan's Case".

  • 22nd International IO Conference, Lisbon 2014: Esteban FERNANDEZ-VASQUEZ, for the paper: „Empirical Estimation of Non-Linear Input-Output Models: An Entropy Econometrics Approach".

  • 23rd International IO Conference, Mexico City 2015: Kirsten WIEBE, for the paper: "The impact of renewable energy diffusion on European consumption-based emissions".

  • 24th International IO Conference, Seoul 2016: Johannes TOEBBEN, for the paper: "Regional Net Impacts and Distributive Effects of Promoting Renewable Energies in Germany".

  • 25th International IO Conference, Atlantic City 2017: No award.

Sir Richard Stone Prize

This US-$ 1,000 prize is awarded every other year for the best paper that was submitted and accepted for publication in Economic Systems Research, in the two volumes prior to the year of an IIOA Conference. The prize is donated by Francis & Taylor, the Publisher of IIOA's journal Economic Systems Research.

  • 16th International IO Conference, Istanbul 2007, best article in ESR in 2005 and 2006: Mette Wier, Line Block Christoffersen, Trine S. Jensen, Ole G. Pedersen, Hans Keiding, and Jesper Munksgaard “Evaluating sustainability of household consumption – Using DEA to assess environmental performance” Economic Systems Research, 17(4), pp. 425-447, 2005

  • 17th International IO Conference, Sao Paolo 2009, best article in ESR in 2007 and 2008: Utz Reich "Inequality in exchange: the use of a world trade flow table for analyzing the international economy".

  • 19th International IO Conference, Alexandria 2011, best article in ESR in 2009 and 2010: Keisuke Nansai, Shigemi Kagawa, Yasushi Kondo, Sangwon Suh, Rokuta Inaba, Kenichi Nakajima "Improving the Completeness of Product Carbon Footprints Using a Global Link Input-Output Model: The Case of Japan".

  • 21st International IO Conference, Kitakyushu 2013, best article in ESR in 2011 and 2012: Stephen D. CASLER (Allegheny College) for the paper "Coefficient Change, Price Effects, and implicit Elasticities: Estimating Microeconomic Determinants over two Time-Periods."

  • 25th International IO Conference, Atlantic City 2017, best article in ESR in 2013 and 2014: Adam ROSE and Dan WEI for the paper "Estimating the Economic Consequences of a Port Shutdown: The Special Role of Resilience".

For details see the Bylaws on Prizes.

IIOA Past Presidents

As a rule the Presidents of the IIOA are elected by the full Council of the IIOA from the nine elected council members of the IIOA, of which three are elected every three year for overlapping nine year terms.

  • 1987-1991 Anne P. Carter
  • 1992-1996 Reiner Stäglin
  • 1997-2000 Karen R. Polenske
  • 2001-2003 Masahiro Kuroda
  • 2004-2006 Faye Duchin
  • 2007-2009 Jan Oosterhaven
  • 2010-2012 Geoffrey J. D. Hewings

International Input-Output Association (IIOA) • Urbangasse 16/19 • A-1170, Vienna, Austria
• Fax: (+43) 1 798 93 86 • Web: www.iioa.org • Email: office@iioa.org
Copyright © 2018 IIOA.org All Right Reserved